حول أزمة المواد الأفيونية

فهم جذور الوباء

وقد تضررت ولاية ماين بشدة من وباء المواد الأفيونية. بين عامي 2000 و 2020، توفي 4518 شخصا بسبب جرعة زائدة مرتبطة بالمخدرات. في السنوات الأخيرة، ماين يفقد ما يقرب من شخص واحد كل يوم لجرعة زائدة من المخدرات. ومع ذلك، لكل جرعة زائدة من المخدرات القاتلة، وتشير البيانات إلى أن هناك ما بين 10 و 15 جرعات زائدة غير قاتلة حيث يتم حفظ ماينرز بفضل إنقاذ الحياة جرعة زائدة عكس المخدرات نالوكسون. هؤلاء هم جيراننا وزملائنا وأصدقائنا وأفراد عائلتنا. يمكن الوقاية من الجرعات الزائدة ويمكن علاج اضطراب تعاطي المواد الأفيونية. ونحن مدينون لكل ماينر المتضررين من وباء شبائه الأفيون، ولأسرهم، ولأصدقاءهم لبذل المزيد من الجهد لكسر هذه الحلقة القاتلة.

بدأت الموجة الأولى من الجرعات الزائدة في التسعينات بعد الزيادات في الوصفات الأفيونية في البداية مدمن مخدرات المرضى المطمئنين. وقد أظهرت الدراسات الوطنية أن أكثر من 75٪ من متعاطي الهيروين استخدموا مسكنات الألم الموصوفة طبيا كبوابةلهم. وقد انضمت إدارة ميلز إلى ولايات أخرى لمقاضاة صانع أوكسي كونتين بوردو فارما في محاولة للحصول على العدالة لدورها العدواني في دفع وصف OxyContin بشكل غير قانوني الذي بدأ الموجة الأولى من الوباء.

وبدأت الموجة الثانية من الوباء في القرن الحادي والعشرين مع تحول المرضى الذين كان يتعاطون شبائه الأفيون الموصوفة سابقا إلى الهيروين بسبب كبح الوصفات الطبية والفيضانات الجديدة من الهيروين في المخدرات غير المشروعة. ويصف سام كوينونيس في دريم لاند تفسيرا جيدا لهذه الظاهرة. وكان سام المتحدث الرئيسي في أول قمة للاستجابة لشبائه الأفيون التي عقدها الحاكم ميلز.

بدأت الموجة الثالثة في عام 2014 مع دخول المواد الأفيونية الاصطناعية، مثل الفنتانيل،إلى إمدادات المخدرات. الفنتانيل هو 50 إلى 100 مرة أقوى من المورفين. وهو دواء وصفة طبية تستخدم في المقام الأول في إدارة المرضى الذين يعانون من آلام شديدة مثل بعد الجراحة أو سرطان المرحلة المتأخرة. ولكن الفنتانيل الذي يتم شراؤه في الشارع عادة ما يتم تصنيعه بشكل غير قانوني ويقطع إلى مخدرات أخرى مثل الميث والكوكايين دون علم المستخدمين.

(المصدر: MaineDrugData.com)

لمزيد من المعلومات حول جذور وباء الأفيون، يرجى زيارة https://www.cdc.gov/drugoverdose/epidemic/index.html.

ما هي المواد الأفيونية؟

المواد الأفيونية هي مواد كيميائية طبيعية أو اصطناعية أو شبه اصطناعية تتفاعل مع مستقبلات المواد الأفيونية على الخلايا العصبية في الجسم والدماغ ، وتقلل من شدة إشارات الألم ومشاعر الألم. وتشمل هذه الفئة من المخدرات الهيروين غير المشروع، والمواد الأفيونية الاصطناعية مثل الفنتانيل، وأدوية الألم المتاحة قانونا بوصفة طبية، مثل الأوكسيكونتين والأوكسيكودون والهيدروكودون والكوديين والمورفين وغيرها الكثير. المواد الأفيونية الموصوفة طبيا آمنة بشكل عام عندما تؤخذ لفترة قصيرة وبتوجيهات من الطبيب ، ولكنها تشكل أيضا خطرا كبيرا لسوء الاستخدام والإدمان.

ما هو اضطراب تعاطي المواد الأفيونية (OUD) واضطراب تعاطي المخدرات (SUD)؟

العود هو شكل محدد من أشكال اضطراب تعاطي المخدرات الذي يحدث عندما تكون محاولات خفض أو السيطرة على تعاطي المواد الأفيونية غير ناجحة أو عندما يؤدي الاستخدام إلى مشاكل اجتماعية وعدم الوفاء بالالتزامات في العمل أو المدرسة أو المنزل. العود هو مرض مزمن يمكن علاجه. غالبا ما يأتي اضطراب تعاطي المواد الأفيونية (المشار إليه سابقا بإدمان المواد الأفيونية) بعد أن يصاب الشخص بالتسامح مع المواد الأفيونية والاعتماد عليها ، مما يجعل من الصعب جسديا وقف استخدام المواد الأفيونية وزيادة خطر الانسحاب.

اضطراب تعاطي المخدرات (SUD) والصحة العقلية تؤثر على الناس من جميع مناحي الحياة وجميع الفئات العمرية. هذه الأمراض شائعة ومتكررة ويمكن أن تكون خطيرة ، ولكنها قابلة للعلاج ويتعافى الناس. تحدث اضطرابات تعاطي المخدرات عندما يتسبب الاستخدام المتكرر للكحول و/ أو المخدرات في إعاقة كبيرة سريريا، بما في ذلك المشاكل الصحية والإعاقة وعدم الوفاء بالمسؤوليات الرئيسية في العمل أو المدرسة أو المنزل. تتضمن الاضطرابات النفسية تغيرات في التفكير والمزاج و/أو السلوك. يمكن أن تؤثر هذه الاضطرابات على كيفية ارتباطنا بالآخرين وجعل الخيارات. غالبا ما يعتمد الوصول إلى مستوى يمكن تشخيصه رسميا على انخفاض في قدرة الشخص على العمل نتيجة الاضطراب.

العود قابل للعلاج:

تظهر الأبحاث بوضوح أن العلاج بمساعدة الأدوية (MAT) المستخدم لفترة غير محددة من الزمن هو واحد من أكثر الطرق فعالية لعلاج العود. سوبوكسون (البوبرينورفين) والميثادون هما أكثر الطرق شيوعا وفعالية للحد من تعاطي المواد الأفيونية المفعول وتعزيز الصحة على المدى الطويل. تعرف على خيارات العلاج المختلفة الموجودة في ولاية ماين هنا. هناك العديد من الطرق للتعافي وكثير من الناس على استعداد للمساعدة في تلك الرحلة. ابحث عن الدعم المحلي بالقرب منك على صفحة الموارد الخاصة بنا.

About the Opioid Crisis

Understanding the Roots of the Epidemic

Maine has been hit hard by the opioid epidemic. Between 2000 and 2020, 4518 individuals died from a drug-related overdose. In recent years, Maine loses approximately one person every day to drug overdose. Yet, for every fatal drug overdose, data suggests that there are between 10 and 15 non-fatal overdoses where Mainers are saved thanks to the life saving overdose reversal drug Naloxone. These are our neighbors, our colleagues, our friends, and our family members. Overdoses are preventable and Opioid Use Disorder is treatable. We owe it to every Mainer affected by the opioid epidemic, to their families, and to their friends to do more to break this deadly cycle.

The first wave of overdoses began in the 1990s after increases in opioid prescriptions initially hooked unsuspecting patients. National studies have shown that more than 75% of heroin users utilized prescription painkillers as their gateway. The Mills administration has joined other states to sue OxyContin maker Purdue Pharma in an effort to get justice for their aggressive role in illegally pushing OxyContin prescribing that kicked off the first wave of the epidemic.

The second wave of the epidemic began in the 2000s as patients formerly on prescribed opioids switched to heroin because of curbed prescribing practiced and a new flood of heroin in the illegal drug suppl. A good explanation of this phenomenon is described by Sam Quinones in Dreamland. Sam was the keynote speaker at Governor Mills’ first Opioid Response Summit.

The third wave began in 2014 as synthetic opioids, such as fentanyl, entered the drug supply. Fentanyl is 50 to 100 times more potent than morphine. It is a prescription drug used primarily in managing patients with severe pain such as after a surgery or late stage cancer. But the fentanyl bought on the street is typically manufactured illegally and cut into other drugs such as meth and cocaine without the users’ knowledge.

(source: MaineDrugData.com)

For more information on the roots of the opioid epidemic, visit https://www.cdc.gov/drugoverdose/epidemic/index.html.

What are Opioids?

Opioids are natural, synthetic, or semi-synthetic chemicals that interact with opioid receptors on nerve cells in the body and brain, and reduce the intensity of pain signals and feelings of pain. This class of drugs includes the illegal drug heroin, synthetic opioids such as fentanyl, and pain medications available legally by prescription, such as oxycontin, oxycodone, hydrocodone, codeine, morphine, and many others. Prescription opioids are generally safe when taken for a short time and as directed by a doctor, but also pose high risk for misuse and addiction.

What is Opioid Use Disorder (OUD) and Substance Use Disorder (SUD)?

OUD is a specific form of substance use disorder that occurs when attempts to cut down or control opioid use are unsuccessful or when use results in social problems and a failure to fulfill obligations at work, school, or home. OUD is a treatable chronic disease. Opioid Use Disorder (previously referred to opioid addiction) often comes after the person has developed opioid tolerance and dependence, making it physically challenging to stop opioid use and increasing the risk of withdrawal.

Substance Use Disorder (SUD) and mental health affect people from all walks of life and all age groups. These illnesses are common, recurrent, and can be serious, but they are treatable and people do recover. Substance use disorders occur when the recurrent use of alcohol and/or drugs causes clinically significant impairment, including health problems, disability, and failure to meet major responsibilities at work, school, or home. Mental disorders involve changes in thinking, mood, and/or behavior. These disorders can affect how we relate to others and make choices. Reaching a level that can be formally diagnosed often depends on a reduction in a person’s ability to function as a result of the disorder.

OUD is Treatable:

Research clearly shows that medication assisted treatment (MAT) used for an indefinite period of time is one of the most effective ways of treating OUD. Suboxone (buprenorphine) and Methadone are the most common and effective modes of reducing opioid use and promoting long-term health. Learn about the different treatment options found in Maine here. There are many paths to recovery and many people willing to help on that journey. Find local support near you on our resources page.